Other brands
Whirlpool Water Softener Review
Whirlpool water softener reviews come down to two models: the 30,000-grain WHES30 and the 40,000-grain WHES40, rated by Whirlpool for 125 gpg of hardness and 10 ppm of clear-water iron.
By the Water Softener Reviews editors · Updated
Disclosure: watersofteners.reviews is run by the same team as SoftPro Water Systems and Quality Water Treatment, and we rank their products first. We compare published specifications, certifications, warranties and prices (as of October 2026). We did not lab-test these units. How we rank

On this page
Key takeaways
- Whirlpool Water Solutions lists two current softeners, the WHES30 (30,000 grains) and the WHES40 (40,000 grains), both salt-based with demand regeneration.
- Whirlpool states the WHES40 removes up to 125 gpg of hardness and 10 ppm of clear-water iron, the top of the 5 to 10 ppm range Nebraska Extension gives for softeners.
- The base warranty is 1 year; Whirlpool extends it to 5 years with product registration and regular use of its softener cleanser.
- Whirlpool's pages say the units are manufactured under license by Water Channel Partners.
- Whirlpool publishes no price, service flow rate or certification for either model on its product pages (checked October 2026).
- The EPA WaterSense guide favors demand-initiated regeneration, which both models use.
Are Whirlpool water softeners any good?
For small and mid-size households, yes: both models regenerate on demand, and the WHES40 carries one of the highest clear-water iron ratings among store-shelf softeners we cover. The trade-offs are a short base warranty and missing figures for price, flow and certification.
The pair suits one to four people on moderately hard water, especially well owners with dissolved iron. Larger households, homes needing a stated gpm figure, and buyers who want long valve coverage should also read our whole-house softener rankings.
Whirlpool WHES30 and WHES40 specifications
These are the figures on Whirlpool Water Solutions' product pages, checked in October 2026. Anything the maker does not state is marked "not published".
| Spec | WHES30 | WHES40 |
|---|---|---|
| Full name | 30,000 Grain Softener System | 40,000 Grain Water Softener System |
| Regeneration | Demand Regeneration and 6th Sense | Demand Regeneration |
| Capacity | 30,000 grains | 40,000 grains |
| Max hardness | Not published | 125 gpg |
| Max clear-water iron | Not published | 10 ppm |
| Plumbing connection | Up to 1 in. | High-flow valve, up to 1 1/4 in. |
| Service flow rate | Not published | Not published |
| Size (D x W x H) | 20 1/2 x 15 x 48 in. | 20 1/2 x 15 x 48 in. |
| Power | 110/120 V AC, 24 V transformer included | 110/120 V AC, 24 V transformer included |
| Certifications | Not published | Not published |
| Price (Oct 2026) | Not published | Not published |

What does the Whirlpool water softener do well?
Iron tolerance, demand regeneration and a compact cabinet are the real strengths.
10 ppm clear-water iron on the WHES40. NDSU Extension says some softeners remove up to 10 ppm of iron and manganese, so Whirlpool's rating sits at the top of that range. It applies only to dissolved iron that comes out of the tap clear.
A 125 gpg ceiling. Penn State Extension calls water over 10.5 gpg very hard; 125 gpg is far beyond that line.
Demand regeneration. Both models regenerate by water used rather than on a timer, which the EPA recommends for salt efficiency. Whirlpool says the WHES30's 6th Sense technology learns household use and calculates how much salt each regeneration needs.
Compact and easy to watch. Both cabinets are 15 inches wide and 48 inches tall. The WHES40 has a tank light that shows the salt level, and its valve connects to pipe up to 1 1/4 inches.
Whirlpool strengths and trade-offs
Strength: iron rating
10 ppm of clear-water iron on the WHES40, against 3 to 8 ppm on GE's models.
Strength: small footprint
15 inches wide in a single-cabinet design for either size.
Trade-off: figures missing
No price, flow rate or certification on the maker's pages.
Trade-off: conditional warranty
Five years requires registration and ongoing cleanser purchases.
Where does a Whirlpool softener fall short?
Its weak spots are the conditional warranty, capacity for big families and the figures Whirlpool leaves out.
Short base warranty. Coverage starts at one year. Whirlpool extends it to five years when you register the softener and buy and use its cleanser, so budget for that ongoing purchase.
Flow rate not stated. Neither page gives a service flow in gpm. Nebraska Extension lists flow rate alongside hardness and water use as a sizing factor, so homes with several bathrooms in use at once have less to go on.
Capacity for larger homes. On Penn State's figure of 75 gallons per person per day, six people on 12 gpg water remove about 5,400 grains a day, so the WHES40's 40,000 grains lasts about a week at full rating. Our sizing guide shows how to check your own numbers.
Iron above 5 ppm. Even with a 10 ppm rating, Penn State's iron guide recommends softeners for iron mainly when dissolved iron is under 5 mg/L, and red (oxidized) iron fouls resin. Our iron guide covers filters for that case.
No published certification. Neither model page states NSF, WQA or another listing. For a named performance listing, the EPA points buyers to NSF/ANSI 44.
How much does a Whirlpool water softener cost?
Whirlpool does not publish a price on its product pages as of October 2026, so we do not quote one. Before buying from any seller, check that the listing's model and grain figures agree with Whirlpool's; the WHES40 should list 40,000 grains, 125 gpg and 10 ppm.
Ongoing costs are salt, cleanser and the occasional service. NDSU Extension puts sodium chloride at about $5 to $10 per 40-lb bag. Whirlpool recommends evaporated salt pellets or solar salt crystals with under 1% impurities and advises against block salt. Our cost guide has full budgets.
The warranty extension covers the WHES30, WHES33, WHES40 and WHES44. Whirlpool's PRO models (WHEC46, WHESFC and WHES48) can extend to ten years on similar terms.
Whirlpool numbers worth knowing
- 125 gpgMaximum hardness the WHES40 removes, per WhirlpoolWhirlpool Water Solutions
- 10 ppmClear-water iron the WHES40 removes, per WhirlpoolWhirlpool Water Solutions
- 5 yearsWarranty after registration and cleanser use (1 year base)Whirlpool Water Solutions
- 5–10 ppmIron and manganese some softeners can removeNebraska Extension
How it compares with our picks
The WHES40 holds its own on iron and hardness ratings; our picks lead on size range, published prices and valve coverage. It sits at #7 in our main rankings.
| Softener | Lowest price, Oct 2026 | Sizes sold | Warranty in brief |
|---|---|---|---|
| Whirlpool WHES40 | Not published | One, 40,000 grains | 1 year; 5 after registration and cleanser |
| SoftPro Elite Smart HE (#1) | $1,327 | Four, up to 64,000 grains | Valve and key parts for life (limited) |
| SoftPro ECO, well build | $947 | Three, up to 64,000 grains | Lifetime Limited Warranty, in SoftPro's words |
| Fleck 5600SXT from QWT | $1,189 | Five, from 24,000 grains | Valve 5 years, tanks 10 |
Our #1, the SoftPro Elite Smart HE, comes in four sizes up to 64,000 grains, and SoftPro backs the valve with lifetime limited coverage rather than a conditional five years. For well water with iron beyond what a softener should take alone, Quality Water Treatment's Fleck 2510SXT with its AIO filter package is rated by QWT for iron up to 30 ppm; see our well water picks. The SoftPro ECO well version starts at $947 with fine mesh resin. To weigh the WHES40 against GE's 45,000-grain model line by line, read GE vs Whirlpool.
How we put this page together
What we used: the WHES30 and WHES40 pages and the softener warranty page on whirlpoolwatersolutions.com, all checked in October 2026, with hardness, iron and salt context from the EPA and three state extension services. What we left out: our own testing (there was none), owner anecdotes, retailer spec sheets and any price, since Whirlpool does not print one.
Common questions
WHES30 vs WHES40: what changes?
The WHES30 holds 30,000 grains and connects to pipe up to 1 inch, with 6th Sense learning. The WHES40 holds 40,000 grains, connects up to 1 1/4 inches and is rated for 125 gpg and 10 ppm of clear-water iron.
Who makes Whirlpool water softeners?
Whirlpool's softener pages state they are manufactured under license by Water Channel Partners of Eagan, Minnesota.
Can the Whirlpool WHES40 handle well water with iron?
Whirlpool rates it for up to 10 ppm of clear-water iron. Red or orange water, iron bacteria or a rotten-egg smell call for a dedicated filter ahead of the softener.
How does the 5-year Whirlpool warranty work?
Register the softener, then buy and use Whirlpool's softener cleanser as recommended. That turns the 1-year term into 5 years on the WHES30, WHES33, WHES40 and WHES44.
What salt should go in a Whirlpool softener?
Whirlpool recommends evaporated salt pellets or solar salt crystals with less than 1% impurities and advises against block salt.
Does a Whirlpool softener need electricity?
Yes. Both models list 110/120-volt AC power with a 24-volt transformer included, so plan for an outlet near the install spot.
Is a 40,000-grain Whirlpool big enough for my family?
Start from 75 gallons per person per day and your hardness. A family of four at 10 gpg pulls out close to 3,000 grains daily, which puts a full 40,000-grain charge at roughly 13 days.
Related guides
Comparing options? Start with our water softener reviews and best picks.


